ASVO Board members (L-R) Matt Holdstock, David Wollan, Tony Robinson, (back), Mardi Longbottom, Chris Brodie, and Brooke Howell (front).

On November 17 The Australian Society of Viticulture and Oenology (ASVO) announced the appointment of a new president.

Dr Anthony Robinson of Treasury Wine Estates, will now fulfil the role, in place of Dr Mardi Longbottom.

“I am honoured to be elected and look forward to building on the legacy of the Society, promoting education, providing forums for professional development, and enhancing the exchange of technical information,” said Robinson.

Dr Robinson is joined by newly elected Directors Chris Brodie of Wingara Wine Group and Brooke Howell of Yalumba Family Vignerons. Kristy Bartrop of Casella Family Brands, has taken on the role of treasurer while Matt Holdstock at the AWRI, continues in the role of secretary and public officer.

“I would like to thank outgoing President, Dr Mardi Longbottom, for her hard work and dedication to the society.”


“I would like to thank outgoing President, Dr Mardi Longbottom, for her hard work and dedication to the society. Her insight and focus has been invaluable during her term as President.

“I’m particularly pleased that she has been re-elected for her third term on the board and will take on the role of Vice President on the new Board where she can continue to be a great source of wisdom and guidance,” said Robinson.

“The ASVO would also like to thank outgoing Directors, Brett McClen and Dr Mike Trought,” said the ASVO in a written statement.

“Brett has made an outstanding contribution to the Board having served as Vice President, Treasurer and Chair of the Mildura program committee over a four year period. Mike provided valuable experience and insight to the Board bringing a global perspective to discussions during his term,” they said.

The new ASVO Board members are:

Dr Anthony Robinson         President

Dr Mardi Longbottom        Vice President

Ms Kristy Bartrop               Treasurer, (Regional Director, NSW)

Matt Holdstock                  Secretary & Public Officer

Assoc. Prof. Paul Grbin       (Regional Director, SA)

Mr David Wollan                (Regional Director VIC)

Dr Fiona Kerslake               (Regional Director WA, QLD & TAS)

Chris Brodie

Brooke Howell